Looking to bed action of 6.5x55 Ruger M77 Mark II - recommendations?

M

Miller Outdoors

Hi,
I've already lapped and floated the barrel and been through reasonably extensive load development and I can't get my 6.5x55 Ruger M77 Mark II to group under .9" consistently.

I figure I've got to bed the action. I've never done it myself before and with funds being tight I'm looking for recommendations on an easy to work with (read fullproof for a beginner- lol) compound, as well as any tips.

Thanks! :)

Edit to mention: Not sure if this matters, but the front bedding screw is angled. Have never seen that setup before. The action isn't loose, but bedding seems to be the only thing I haven't tried to achieve good groups.

Last edited by a moderator:
I once had a Ruger 77 MkII in 204 and I couldnt get that thing to shoot either. Mine was the synthetic stock model. I had it floated and bedded and a new trigger put in it. The thing wouldnt shoot under an inch. I cam to the conclusion that it must be my stock. The recoil lug area was a bit mushy. I think if I still owned the rifle and wanted to put more money in it I would either get a laminated stock and have it glass bedded or pillar bed the synthetic stock. I know this is not answering your question but it is my experience. As far as bedding I think the acraglass gel or devcon is the way to go. a lot of people have written out step by step instructions you can also watch it done on youtube.com Just make sure you do not skimp on the prep. if you do anything right make sure it is that part. Good luck. let us know how it turns out

Thanks for info., Mike.