Looking at buying some new reloading tools.

hillajam

Santa was good to me this year and I am planning on buying some case prep tools. I am planning on buying a primer pocket uniformer(Lyman), case length trimmer(Redding), case lube kit(RCBS), and a flash hole deburrer(Redding). Does any one have any input on these choices.

I was also thinking about getting the RCBS power station but figured to save the money and get the hand tools.

I also have a question about the flash hole deburring tool. How do you know you aren't taking too much material away? I started reloading two years ago so I'm not a pro at all.

Santa was good to me this year and I am planning on buying some case prep tools. I am planning on buying a primer pocket uniformer(Lyman), case length trimmer(Redding), case lube kit(RCBS), and a flash hole deburrer(Redding). Does any one have any input on these choices.

I was also thinking about getting the RCBS power station but figured to save the money and get the hand tools.

I also have a question about the flash hole deburring tool. How do you know you aren't taking too much material away? I started reloading two years ago so I'm not a pro at all.

If you plan on doing any quantity at all, then buy yourself an RCBS trim mate. Hand tools will wear out your hands long before you've assembled a box of ammo. Hand trim machines are fine. I've processed at least 5000 rounds with my trim mate and its going strong. The various operations I use it for are: primer pocket uniformer, primer pocket brush, flash hole deburr, VLD ID chamfer, OD chamfer and mouth polish (varmint al's steel wool polisher).

https://shop.rcbs.com/WebConnect/Ma...=CategoryDisplay&categoryId=C11J037&route=C11

For case lube, just use oneshot spray. For the flash hole, the lyman tool has a little stop that contacts the case mouth so you don't go too far, but you'll feel when its right, just a couple turns and you'll feel the bur come off.