LongRifles Inc. first groups

WesB

I finally had some time to shoot my rifle that Chad built for me. Let me preface this by saying I'm not the best shot from the bench. I can maintain minute of deer and minute of elk but my bench skills might not compare to some of you. I have been reloading for about 30 years, mainly because I'm cheap and didn't want to pay for factory ammo. I've always been very meticulous about reloading but after discovering LHR and reading the info shared by a lot of you I've learned that I didn't know as much as I thought I did and now I have started to become very ANAL. Any way on to the groups.
The barrel break in consisted of shooting one shot and clean for two shots, then two shots and clean for four rounds. After the first shot I could see a little copper at the muzzle. I ran one patch of Sweets and let it soak for a couple minutes, followed by a patches soaked in BBS wrapped around a 22-250 nylon brush. It took about 10 patches to remove all of the copper. The second round showed a little copper like the first and was cleaned using the same method. I then fired two rounds before cleaning. There was very little copper visible and it only took a couple patches to remove. After the second round of two shots there was no copper visible. So I figured that was good enough and moved on to loading some rounds for groups. My break in rounds were loaded in one grain increments from 63 to 66 grains of H-4831 over Federal 215 primers with Berger 168 VLD's set .010 off the lands. There were no pressure up to 66 grains so I figured I would start there.
For my group rounds I used virgin Remington brass with uniformed primer pockets, flash holes deburred and mouths chamfered inside and out, 66 gr H-4831, Federal 215 primers and Berger 168 VLD's. I followed Bergers recommendation of firing two three shot groups at varying seating depths.