Loadbase 3.0?

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by WoodWraith, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. WoodWraith

    WoodWraith Member

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Hello,


    As a first time ballistic software user I'm in a litte over my head with this software. So I was hoping you guys could help me with the reticle hold area I have a N.F. with NPR1 at 15x the software gives it in 22X m.o.a. is there any way to change that or compensate for it? Thanks for any and all help.Clint
     
  2. Mikecr

    Mikecr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,264
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    While there might be math to compensate, I think NF reticles are only in-cal at 22x, even with higher power scopes in their lineup.
    NF had to pick a standard for second focal plane.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2010

  3. WoodWraith

    WoodWraith Member

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    I'm not sure if i described right the first time so to clarify its a 3.5 to 15x model, does that change your answer? Thanks Clint.
     
  4. jmden

    jmden Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,725
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    My understanding of that reticle is that it it is calibrated at 15x for your model. So each hash mark in the elevation is 1 MOA at 15x and the windage 2 MOA. But, you can use other magnifications as well. My NPR1 5.5-22 can be used at 11x, for instance, and the elevation hash marks are then 2MOA and so on. The 5.5 x 22's have a dot on the mag. ring indication 11x. Do you have that at 7.5x?
     
  5. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,840
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    I use the NP-R2 for my scope that is accurate at 9x and it works good. As long as you use your optic at the power that it is 1MOA between hash marks your GTG with the NP-R1 because they are both 1MOA value!
     
  6. Eaglet

    Eaglet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    [​IMG]

    Don't worry about changing the 22x for 15x, just make sure you set your scope at the zoom setting where each line is calibrated to be = to 1 moa. More likely that'd be at 15x. Then, at that setting the hold over values would be right on the money!

    The picture above shown center of reticle to be good for 100 yards, you could change things around to where the very top line would be for zero giving you more adjustment for longer ranges.

    LIKE SO

    [​IMG] Here to very top line would be on for 100 yards, the center of the cross hair would be on for 565 yards and so on. The ones that are not marked would be extremely easy to find out their distance-values by just going to the proper screen.

    Notice, on the top photo from zero (at 100 yards) you need 10 MOA downwards to put you right at 565 yards. On the second photo, if you go from the very top 10 MOA downwards you'll be right at the center of the reticle and that'd be exactly 565 yards.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  7. WoodWraith

    WoodWraith Member

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Thanks guys for all the info. I appreciate it!