load suggestions??

ltrbuck

Just bought a Savage 116 BGH in a 300 WM. It has a medium heavy 24" fluted barrel with a 1-10 twist. Looking to shoot out to 1000 yds mainly for hunting and some target. Basically want to shoot a heavy rd as far and flat as possible. Thanks! gun)

Just bought a Savage 116 BGH in a 300 WM. It has a medium heavy 24" fluted barrel with a 1-10 twist. Looking to shoot out to 1000 yds mainly for hunting and some target. Basically want to shoot a heavy rd as far and flat as possible. Thanks! gun)

What do you have at your disposal now?

Pic a good bullet lots out there I shoot AMAX and Bergers. I only use 2 powders for my 300 win mag H1000 and RUTUMBO. No need for a mag primer any large rifle will get you going I use CCI BR2s. I use Nosler cases and am veary happy with them.

Thanks HITMAN! I'm just getting into the reloading game here. I was of the mindset that I needed large mag primers for this gun?

As far as bullet goes i would reccomend the 208 A max or the 210 Berger. Both have great BCs and will get the job done extreamly well. As far as the primer i would use a Mag primer to make sure all the powder is getting burnt out of a 24inch barrel. It is called a 300 Winchester MAGNUM for a reason:D

Thank you as well Sniper! Was thinking the same for primers. Any accuracy concerns with only the 24" at long ranges?

I have been shooting the berger 210 in a 300wm also with retumbo and H1000. I get a little more velocity with the retumbo and a little better accuracy with the H1000. Also have some 200gr accubonds, but haven't shot them much yet.

ltrbuck,
Yes I do, and get great accuracy (.3" and less) using 180gn Ballistic Tip and 180gn SMK. I use 75.5gn of RL22 with both but use the BR2 primer with the BT and Remington 9.5M for the MatchKing. I don't know why it makes a difference with my rifle but it does. It is a Savage 112BVSS by the way. Happy shooting! JohnnyK.