Load development in 0 deg temps?

RockyMtnMT

Official LRH Sponsor
Just wanted to get some opinions about load development in temp ranges of single digits down to minus single digits.

Thanks, Steve

well, I'm no expert on it, but I just got in from testing rounds in -10 F weather. I would be cautious about using real hot loads in the summer time then. I plan on checking my loads when it warms up too.

Beware of afrostbitten trigger finger ;)

I am figuring that I will work for known velocities and not do any pushing, and tune for accuracy.

Steve

We do it up here all the time. I have never had a load go bad in the summer time. Then again summer here is 80 degrees at best. Besides, most of my loads during development never get to cold as they stay in my home or warm vehicle.

If youre trying to develop a cold wheather load, chrono your loads at cold temps 1st. You may be suprised at how little velocity you might loose.

Using a temperature insensitive powder, such as Varget or IMR4350 (if your rifle is compatible with these powders) might help. I shoot during the winter all the time, using varget as my primary. My groups are about .5" higher during summer.

Some guns don't care about 50-75 fps swings between -5 degrees and say 80 degrees. But I would say that even with supposed temp sensitive powders you could see that. If you have a fussy gun or are living with top speed loads you may have to make those changes.

Thanks for the input guys. I am planning on using the hogdon extreme powders so I think I'll be ok. May have to re-zero in the spring.

Steve

Do you guy's have any luck with chronogragh's working in temperatures that low?Mine quit's working when it starts to get below about 40 degree's.

I've had my Oehler 35P out in temps as low as 0 F with no problem. I plug it in once I set up and leave it on during my range session. In warmer weather, I unplug it when cleaning or while I'm down range checking targets, etc. in order to save battery life.