Leupold Quick Release

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by DONTSTROKEME, Oct 15, 2006.

1. DONTSTROKEME

DONTSTROKEME Well-Known Member

I have an A-bolt in 338 Win Mag. I also have a Pre-64 model 70. I have Leupold's 1-Piece QR base on the model 70. I would like to have a 1-piece on the A-bolt also. But I can only find the 2-piece. Does any one know where I can find the 1-piece for the long action A-bolt? If not Is there anything lost by using the 2-piece?

Thanks
    Joe Oakes

2. James Jones

James Jones Well-Known Member

Leupold doesen't have a one piece base listed for the
    A-bolt series rifles.

Any particular reason your dead set on this style base?

3. DONTSTROKEME

DONTSTROKEME Well-Known Member

I would think that the 1 piece is stronger and better than the 2 piece, and I already have the 1 piece on my other gun....sort of to match.

Joe Oakes

4. kraky

kraky Well-Known Member

I've had a number of guns with the 2 piece. I'm no engineer but with 2 screws surrounding the hole where the post goes in I can't imaging why a 1 piece would be stonger than a 2 piece. I've never had trouble with the qr mounts but suspect it will be in the moveing parts......not the base.....when I do have trouble.

5. tulku

tulku Well-Known Member