Leupold CDS???

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by bgxhunter, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. bgxhunter

    bgxhunter New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    This question might have been asked but here goes. I have and shoot a 6.5 Creedmoor Custom rifle. It sports a 6X18X40 AO and I'm sendin it in for the CDS system. My bullet is 120gr.Nosler Bal.Tip. What happens when you change bullet weight??
     
  2. JackinSD

    JackinSD Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    531
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    You change bullets, or for that matter the load, and your ballistics change.

    From Leupold's website:
    S (Custom Dial System)
    [​IMG]
    Leupold CDS™ models allow you to quickly dial your elevation to different sight-in ranges with a custom adjustment matched to your specific ballistics information. The CDS dials change out easily, allowing you flexibility with different loads, conditions and calibers. Every CDS dial features ¼-MOA click increment finger adjustments and no adjustment covers to lose, making the VX-2, VX-3, VX-6 and VX-R even more accurate and rugged. How the CDS™ System Works The CDS System works by laser-inscribing your scope's elevation dial to match your load, velocity and conditions. Your scope will be in perfect synch with the way your rifle and load shoots, even for hand loads. Each CDS dial is unique, taking all practical ballistic and environmental factors into account
     

  3. bgxhunter

    bgxhunter New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Jack, thanks for reply. I sorta thought that. I've been shootin 95gr.V-Max all summer with g-hog huntin but thought if only 1 bullet and load 120's would keep me on g-hogs and deer huntin. If I want to change to a 140gr. or a 100 gr. I'ed need to send scope away for each??
     
  4. JackinSD

    JackinSD Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    531
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    You are correct.
     
  5. 1100 Remington Man

    1100 Remington Man Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    304
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Realy you don't send in scope just tell them what you want & they build it and mail you a new turret & you install it. You do have to tell them Cal. & Bullet FPS temp Elevation humidity & then it's good for those conditions. But the Fly in the ointment is you have to check it.
     
  6. JackinSD

    JackinSD Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    531
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    I don't remember the OP asking about sending the scope in when I answered previously. No you will not have to send the scope in.