Len - 7mm

BountyHunter

The lack of quality bullets has been the reason, but that is changing rapidly. It was only Carteruccio and lately Berger and JLK that have good bullets.

For competitive LR shooting, the bullet is rapidly becoming the most critical piece.

Many mftrs make good barrels, basic match reloading techniques are readily learned.

Many good 1K smiths can build good guns.

Basically it comes down to who has good bullets and his loading technique and gun tuning are on for that match.

BH

I am far from an expert source of info on the use of the 7mm for long range. But from what I read, the current quality of bullets available is no longer a hindrance. Then if you consider the inherent ballistic coefficient advantage of the 7mm over anything else, there should be more use of this caliber in the future.

As an example, my 7/338 Lapua should be done soon. I expect close to 3,500 fps with my 32 inch barrel and the 176 grain Cauterucio (.750 BC) match bullet. The ballistics with this combo, IMHO, beat anything else out there for an accurate, practical killing machine out well past my comfortable hunting range.

It beats all the biggest 30 cal cartridges in stats for retained energy, wind bucking and flat shooting. Clicks to 1,000 yards will be 15 MOA vs 18 for the big 30/338 Lapua with the JLK 210 (.670 BC) bullet. Wind drift (10 mph)is 37 inches vs 46. Energy is 2,000 ft-lbs vs 1,850.

Another important factor is recoil as it affects the ability to shoot well and to see the bullet's impact on game. 22 ft-lbs vs 27 (assuming an 18.5 pound rifle combo.

[ 05-05-2004: Message edited by: Len Backus ]

Len - would you give me the details of your 7/338 Lapua build ,I have owned a couple of 7 mags , have always been interested in a 7 STW , and still considering it , but like my 300 win mag - the seating depth has always bothered me , Magazine length ,I realize they say it doesn't mater but....thanks