Lawton Actions - scope bases ?

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by Varmint Hunter, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. Varmint Hunter

    Varmint Hunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,519
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    I had purchased a LH Lawton 7000 SS action (Rem 700 clone) for a new .308 build. The rifle just arrived and I intended to install a set of Burris DD bases and Signature rings which have been sitting here waiting for the rifle.

    Now that I have taken a closer look at the action I noticed that the receiver has two sets of holes which are spaced the same, I believe .860" ctr to ctr. (unlike a Rem 700), and the holes are larger, 8-40.

    I contacted Lawton and they said to just put two front bases on the rifle and I shouldn't have a problem. However they also said that I would have to drill the holes out in the bases to accomodate the fatter screws.

    Can I just open the base holes up and still have enough shoulder left in the base hole for the new screw heads to grab properly?

    Any other suggestions?
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  2. NYLES

    NYLES Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    773
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    why not just have ordered one while ya had em on the phone? rail that is. ive got a 7500 dont know the diff in the two base/rail wise, but pm fifytydriver I know he knows!

    I know the feeling of finding out the unknown just when its all about to go toether and be "race ready". sucks!

    thats just a option!
     

  3. Varmint Hunter

    Varmint Hunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,519
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    They only sell tapered bases, no straight bases and that's not what I'm interested in for this rifle. It was their suggestion to use 2 front Burris bases when I told them I wanted to use Burris Signature rings. (I have a Burris base & ring set here, not realizing that they wouldn't fit)
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  4. NYLES

    NYLES Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    773
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Looks like your still in the pickle jar! Unless you have 2 FRONT bases to drill. You still gotta spend more. 20moa rail aint that bad unless you dont want it in the way and need the space up top. Is chamber access space why you dont want the rail? or is it the 20 MOA?

    Just trying to help.
     
  5. Varmint Hunter

    Varmint Hunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,519
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    This rifle is a short/med range hunting rifle (.308) with a light barrel, and I prefer the mount low. There would be no need for a 20MOA tapered base. Lawton's web site appears to offer a straight base which I figured was lower than the tapered bases, but they said they have only been talking about offering a straight base. None are actually available.

    I understand why they would drill oversize base holes but don't know why they used different hole spacing for the rear base. I guess it doesn't matter because a 700 rear base would be to high on this receiver anyway.
     
  6. NYLES

    NYLES Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    773
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    For some mesurment info I mounted a 50mm NF on NF lowest rings with the 20 moa rail and it sits about a 1/4" above the barrel. ended up alot better fit than expected after 50 told me that Lawton rails sit pretty high, I was expecting a minimun of med rings but it turned out great!

    20 moa would only force you to dail your scope way down, but would allow for a TON of up-page if you ever needed it.

    Good luck! with whatever ya end up using.
    Sorry could help ya more!

    Get something on that new rig and let em fly!
     
  7. sbruni

    sbruni Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    243
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Oops... Didn't mean to post here and can't delete
     
  8. window licker

    window licker Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    128
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    I think the lawtons are a round action all the way around unlike the remington which is flat on top in the rear, I think that is why he told you to use two front bases???