Lathe Jig for Badger bolt handle?

EXPRESS

I saw a picture of a simple jig that held a rifle bolt for turning the existing knob down for threading to take the badger knob.
Can anyone direct me to it?
Thanks.

I found the pic, but now, looking at it, it seems like it might be a bit harder to build than I thought.

How to you get it so that the bolt handle spins concentricly?

I am very new to machining, and this is one of the first projects I am looking at doing.
What rpm would you use with so much of the bolt flying around? That jig will have to take a lot of stress with the centrifigul force generated, even at a couple of hundred rpm? no?

Thanks.

bolthandlejig1fu9.jpg

By jomas at 2007-08-01

That jig actualy woulden't be that hard to build if you have a mill that the vise will "pan" so that the angle will be cut correctly.

I have done a few bolts of my own and I use a couple small V-blocks placed on opposite sides so it makes a V-block vise per say and that is clamped in a vise that if filled to a rotorary index table , I then use a small carbide mill to cut the diameter down to the correct size , it all sounds very complicated but once your vice is centered to the table and the table is dialed in it just takes a little playing with the bolt in the vise to get it angled right.
That lathe setup would work ALOT faster though.

I talked to Chris Mathews about putting on badger bolt knobs and he used a hollow , or inside mill which is a very expensive tool.

If sombody has made several of these holders it may be worth the call to see if you can just buy one.

OH YEA , and on the RPM deal in the lathe , yes at higer RPM you will probably get a good bit of vibration especialy if the lathe is small but you could get away with making the cuts at 100 RPM or so just slow your tool speed way down , it'll take longer but it'll be worth it in a quality job and hell once the jig is setup you can single point the threads for a realy nice job.