Keep the Rifle & Deck It Out or Sell It?

McPatrickClan

I am brand new to rifle hunting. I have bowhunted for three years (was not so good at it :rolleyes:) but decided once I entered seminary full-time that I just would not have time to bowhunt anytime soon. With the practice involved, etc. I just knew with three kids and a wonderful wife, something would have to go & it was the bow. I sold it easily (nice Diamond bow) and ended up buying a Savage 111 from the used rack at Bass Pro Shops.

I chose the rifle after researching rifle cartridges. I found that the .308 was readily available throughout the U.S. and it seemed to be a nice blend of power & speed.

I have shot the rifle about four times, only at the range. There are limited public hunting opportunities in Texas for centerfire rifles, though they can be had if you are willing to drive. Plus, I work at a church in town and a few kind members are willing to let me take hogs, cull bucks, etc. once in a while at their leases/hunting ranches.

I decided that I want my 111 (manufactured in 1994- I researched it via a Savage website) to be more fun to shoot. I can hang in there for about two dozen shots but get kind of bored and feel like I am being sloppy after that. I know it will never be a .22 but I figure a few aftermarket upgrades will help me stay focused on the target without flinching.

I called Stockade Gun Stocks and spoke to Kevin. He quoted me a total of about $650 for all the upgrades I think I need. They would be:

1) New Rollover Thumbhole Stock- $375 (painted, finished)
2) Stock bedding- $125
3) New trigger- $125

Plus shipping costs, unexpected costs, etc. I am figuring about $650.

I have about 300 rounds of .308 ammo, some bulk battlepacks, some match grade, etc. I bought a ton of what I could before the unfortunate election of the gentleman from Chicago.