Just completed budget .308 build!

jamesmc2

So I am a newbie to the long range game. Grew up hunting in southwest Wyoming and have taken several animals at longish range given the nature of the terrain. I took a hiatus from hunting and shooting while I went to college and medical school due to the demands of my schedule. However this past year I had the chance to get out and hunt with my dad in the canyons of SW Wyoming. He took an impressive 4x4 at just under 400yrds and during the final hours of the hunt I put some meat in the freezer with a 3x3. I had such an enjoyable time both hunting and preparing for the hunt that I decided to rethink my techniques and tactics in order to become a more proficient marksman and hunter. I decided that that one area I could greatly improve would be accuracy. Especially accuracy at longer ranges. I read stories and saw pics of gongs and deer being hit at 1000+ yards. While impressive, I decided that this is not where I should start. I wanted to learn the essentials with the tool that has taught 1000's of military men and law enforcement the basics of the long range game. The .308! Being just out of school and living with a family of three on a resident salary I sold a couple of older guns that I had with a plan to purchase and "accurize" a factory rifle. After reading Jerry Teo's article "Long Range Rifle on an Budget" I purchased a Savage .308 with accutrigger and lightweight varmint barrel. As I had limited funds to work with, the photo's below detail the project.

First I bedded the action using Devcon Plastic Steel. This was my first bedding job and I used the instructions on www.6mmbr.com/pillarbedding.html

Savage308002.jpg

Savage308026.jpg

After bedding the action I built up the stock forend using 2x4 lumber and 5min Epoxy I also converted the grip to more of a "pistol" grip. Additional shaping of the wood was done with files and an electric hand sander.

Savage308007.jpg

Savage308011-1.jpg
Savage308009.jpg