Just a warning

eddybo

to you guys. I just got my new lathe so expect a bunch of stupid questions. While I had the forklift I finally got my mill off of the crate too. So it is probably going to be double duty stupid questions. I hope yall will bear with me. I am not a complete novice as I have owned and used a lathe/mill combo for several years, but I do not know much compared to you guys. Any tips appreciated.

I have a buddy coming to help me level and set up my lathe tomorrow. What, other than leveling the lathe, should I do before I get started whittling on metal.

My two bits

If at all possible, bolt that sucker to the floor. Surface finishes will improve.

The "ideal" set up; cut out the slab foot print of each machine from the floor and poor a new one that is isolated from the rest of the floor. This keeps any vibration local and doesn't transmit to other nearby machines that may be running.

I realize this is not realistic in many applications and many consider it waaaay overkill. However it is viable. Many machine tool equipment manufacturers won't even warranty a machine unless it is set up in this manner (Kitamura, Okuma, Deckel, etc. . .)

Surface finishes are better, but none the less, bolt the machine to the floor if at all possible.

Good luck, enjoy your new toys.

An alternative to drilling the slab is to use a Liqi-lag system. Clean the floor real well and epoxy a steel bedding plate to the floor. If done right it is solid!

Also after you level it get a large piece of stock and cut it at least 12 inches long and measure it. Get all taper out to within 0.0001 and you will be happy that you did. Also ensure that when you cut with a center that it is within the same 0.0001, you would be surprised how bad some tailstocks are. If your is good when you get it I will be VERY surprised!

edge.