JLK's in 6.5x284

BML

I recently purchased a Savage rifle in 6.5x284. I am working on developing a good load but think I may have an overbore issue. I plan on using this rifle strictly as a hunting rifle. While I don't intend it to be strictly a long range gun, I am developing my load to perform at long ranges in case that shot presents itself.

Let me preface by saying I am pretty new to reloading. I have a good "veteran reloader" friend taking me under his wing so I can learn properly. Hopefully I get all the terminology correct here!

After extensive research my friend suggested shooting the 140g JLK's. I'm sure there are several shooters out there shooting them and wanted to get there data on how close the lands their loads are. I understand every rifle is different as well.

Here's why I ask. I don't remember the name of the tool, but we measured the throat to be 3.24 to the lands. Assuming I don't seat the bullet in less than the diameter of the bullet itself, the safest length I can load the JLK's is 3.16. So far everything I have read is that the JLK's like to be up against the lands, if not a little more and I am off .08.

First 4 loads I tested were 48g, 49g, 50g and 52g. OAL on all was 3.16. I used RL-17, Federal 210 primers and Norma brass. Best load was 48g and shot .666 (3 shots).

After that I loaded 47.5g, 48g and 48.5g. I shot those yesterday in nearly exactly the same shooting conditions as the first set. Results were not so good. Best overall group was 47.5g at a little over an inch. First two shots on the 48.5g were touching but the third shot was over 3 inches right. No idea why the flier.

I will still continue to try new loads and also go back and shoot the same loads again just to be sure, but I am wondering how much of the issue could be the seating depth?

Any tips or advice is greatly appreciated it.

Thank you.

Last edited:
A couple of things that may or may not help....