info. needed

G

Hello everyone, I ran across this site and I am new to LRH and shooting. I have a question on long range scopes, once you know the distance, do you need the baslistics on your bullet, and then adjust/dial it in on the scope and this will be zeroed in at that range? I am looking at the Leupold 8.5x25x50 and at this point am unsure how to operate it. Any help or suggestions are welcome, thanks, Laine

Laine

Welcome aboard.
You've got the basic idea, find the range and adjust for the bullet drop with the scope turrets, this will zero you at the given range.

As a side note ballistic charts will get you in the ball park but the only way to know the exact bullet drop is to shoot at various ranges and chart what the bullet really does.

Leupold makes a very good scope but if you will be hunting with this rig you might want to reconsider the 8.5x25, having 8.5 as the lowest magnification could be a little restricting at closer ranges.

Chris

Welcome

Gun will normally be zeroed at 100 yds with high BC long range bullet. Scope will be set up so that it has plenty of elevation left to dial in to the maximum range you will be needing. You will need to know a lot of deatils about bullet trajectory and wind drift with range.

First is to know the maximum effective range of your gun/bullet. This will be when it runs out of killing energy. For deer this is commonly believed to be about 1000#. Two factors are wind and range. Range estimation is handled by laser range finder. See the optics section for long long discussions on range finders.

There are several variations on how to deliver the bullet to the taret. There is the range it out and dial up and shoot crowd. There is the mil dot crowd and there is the Bullet drop compensator reticle crowd. Depending on the gun and animal I will switch methods to suit my needs.

There are many people on this forum and they all have a slightly different approach that suits their perosnality and style.