IMR-7828SSC and 208 A-Max

blygy

Anyone have any experience with these components they would like to share??

I am loading for my Savage actioned, Sharp Shooter stocked, Shilen 33" barreled 300 Win Mag rifle..

Any suggestions??

Thanks Gentlemen..

Bill

Last edited:
Blygy,
You didn't mention what caliber that you will be using. My only experience with the A-Max 208 grain is in the 30/06 and RL22 powder. With that combination out of my rifle it's super accurate.

I just started shooting for accruacy last week and tried 60 and 61 grains. Not very good. Dropped down to 59 grains a couple of days ago and shot some groups in a high wind. The largest group was .75 inches and the smallest was .310.

Today in a 20 MPH breeze I hit a roughly man sized rock [waist up] at 789 yards first shot. It's a good load in my rifle.

This load however only produces 2560 FPS out of my 22 inch barrel.
Regards, Keith

For better results make 4 or 5"s of your barrel disappear, not enough case to use a barrel long enough for a 50bmg, its a harmonic disaster. But you will find your best accuracy with Imr4350, H4831, H1000, or RE22, I haven't had much luck with any bullet and 7828 in a 300wm. Somewhere around 67-69grns of 4350 or 70-71grns H4831 will most likely give you the best results.

200smk's and I7828ssc worked great in my 26" barreled savage 112 bvss.
Great accuracy and low es/sd.
It's just in my new 300win that Ramshot Magnum has worked out awesome with the 208 AMAX
It is build on a weatherby mark v action and has a Christensen arms barrel I bought lighty used.
26" barrel as well

Ramshot Magnum has been a stellar performer for me as well & I think it deserves a serious look.

As far a burn rate goes, it falls smack in between H-1000 & Retumbo, meters great.... If my 338RUM decides it doesn't like Retumbo, Magnum is next.
...I also used 7828 in the RUM, Worked great...