I'm So New I'm Shiny!

BIGREDD

I\'m So New I\'m Shiny!

I am almost embarrassed to post on this site! I don't know squat about long range hunting, my longest shots have been 400 yards on a whitetail with a 270, and about 300 on a ground hog with a 243.I reload and and have my own 600 yard range on my property. The closest thing I have to a Long range Rifle is a Thompson Centre Encore in 300WM with a 26 inch heavy barrel, 5x15 Elite 50mm obj. Is this gun suitable for long range hunting? I can shoot (3 MOA) to 400 with 180 grain paritions from the bench with sandbags. I don't want to sound like a total newbie I have hunted and shot all manner of firearms for 25 years...that said 1000 yards is like a dream to me!

Re: I\'m So New I\'m Shiny!

Welcome aboard Bigredd.

Try to get the accuracy to a better range then 3MOA and the rifle will reach and kill further then the 400 yards you mentioned.

Many 300 Win mags with 26" barrels (Remington Sendaro's for instance) will kill at 1000 yards very nicely.
Try for 1 MOA (Minimum) at ranges to 1000 yards. 1 MOA at 1000 yards is 10"
Obviously, the closer you hunt an animal the MOA does not have to be as good.

There are many rifles that short range hunters carry that shoot about 6" at 100 yards. For them the accuracy does not have to be very good because the shots are usually not any further then 100 yards max.

For the LR hunter the rifle that puts 5 shots into a small cloverleaf or one hole group at 100 yards is desireable to start out with. Most of our big custom guns are capable of this accuracy.

Trigger time and load development is a must for any rifle you intend to use.

Later
DC

[ 07-01-2003: Message edited by: Darryl Cassel ]

BigRedd

Welcome to Long Range Hunting.

You might want to skinny down that 3MOA at 400 yards a bit, that puts you at about max range for whitetails. This would probably be the place to get he info you desire/need...