I'm new, did i mess up my barrel?

Abolt

Hey everybody, I'm 25 now and have been hunting with a rifle for about the past 12 years. however recently i've tried stretching out my shots further, not far for most but im still learning, just 500-600 yds with my .270 and 300 wsm. in the past the only way i knew how to clean my barrel was with a 3 piece rod and hopps 9. however i recently got a tipton rod and jags and bore guide and am using hopps copper solvant. I just cleaned my barrels and ran about 100 patches through each alternating between wet and dry. after that many i was still getting some blue on the dry patch. after i was done i looked at the end of the barrel and i could see what looked like copper streaks down the barrel. i never remember seeings these before however i don't ever remember looking for them. did i mess up my barrel or is this normal? thanks and here is a picture of what i saw. thanks in advance.

Attachments

• i phone 133.jpg
    i phone 133.jpg
    37.1 KB · Views: 110
Those streaks are copper deposits, your copper remover isnt doing a very good job at removing the copper. If you can find some, get a bottle of boretech eliminator, best i have found with KG-12 a close second. If you cant get any then try letting your hoppes copper remover sit in the barrel for 10 mins, dry patch, wet patch, let sit for 10 min, dry patch, wet patch. Repeat the process until patches come out the same color they went in and inspect the end of the barrel for copper streaks.

It looks like you have some copper build up need some sweet 7.62 or CR-10 run a patch up and down around twenty times and wait around five minutes. Then run a bronze brush up and down around twenty times. Then swab out barrel it should come out clean. If not do it again