If you can shoot, you can change a mind

ommedia

I'm a newbie here, and for good reason. I'll explain as I go.

Have you ever met a person that had an opinion, or a way they did something that was exactly opposite of what you had been taught all your life? I recently did, and now I have a new interest that will quickly grow into an expensive habit for me /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

I went on a bobcat hunt two years ago with a guide who was a friend of a friend. Great guy, cool personality. The bobcat hunt was a blast! Never experienced anything like that before, meaning, I'd never hunted behind hounds. Very cool.

Well we got to talking, he mentioned bear hunting....which just so happens to be a fettish of mine. He spoke of big big Oregon bears (that state we live in) and I was more curious. I knew we had a lot of bears, and being a measurer for most major record books, I knew there were many 19-20.5 inchers out there...but I could never get close enough.

He told me that he kills them at rediculously long distances...over 350-400 yards. No way, un-ethical, no sport in it I thought.

To come full circle on this, I had so much doubt, yet so much curiousity that I finally booked a hunt this last spring. As expected, I took my trusty 300 WBY on the trip. It never left the case. In the coarse of a few days, this guide proved to me three things. 1. Bears can die on the spot at long distances 2. I am NOT set in my ways like I thought, and 3. I need to learn to be a much better bench style shooter.

He took me out and let me shoot his rifle, or as he calls it his "edge". I'm learning now that it is a barrel manufacture or something. It looked to me like something earmarked under the Geneva Convention as inhumane (i.e. a 50 cal. or bigger), but to my surprise I think it was a 300 Win Mag...not positive.

I thought I was shooting pretty good, but mind you, I'm used to less than 100 yards off hand shooting in think brush.