I thought I know!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Desert Fox, Jul 14, 2006.

1. Desert Fox

Desert Fox Well-Known Member

I thought I know there is to know about reloading and boy, was I wrong. I did a boboo yesterday in the form of 308 loaded with 168 grain Nosler Competition and 45 grain of BLC-2. The load was developed during winter when temperature was averaging 60 degrees. When fired at temperature of around hundred degree, the result was catasrophic. You can see from the picture below.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Call Hogsdon and was informed that when using sphirical powder, the load that was develop during winter should never be used during summer. I told Hodgsdon that I know that but I'm 2 grain below max. It didn't even crossed my mind besides it never happened to me before and I had been reloading for over 20 years. Can anyone share some light on this.

2. sewwhat89

sewwhat89 Well-Known Member

If you have some loaded up still, pull them, weigh the charge and make sure its BLC2 and not H335. Well, they look the same, but could you have grabbed the wrong color can?

3. biff's reloading

biff's reloading Well-Known Member

what am i lookin at in those pics? they are a bit fuzzy.

4. Coyboy

Coyboy Well-Known Member

Biff, Your looking at a couple of case heads that had the primers blown out of them during fireing. Looks like there is considerable brass flow/expansion with those case heads.

Desert Fox, How difficult was extracting those cases?

Thank heavens it wasen't 120 degrees.

5. Desert Fox