How much bullet into the case neck?

Tamarac

I'm reloading for a .22-250AI on a Mauser 98 action with a 1-12" Shillen barrel.

To build a dummy round I'm chambering a bullet in a resized case. NO powder, NO primer. This measurement gives me 3.060" when measuered with a Sinclair Comparator from base to ogive WITH the comp. Total length would of course be minus the length of the comparator.

My issue is this: When loading 10 thou (.010") off the land to ogive I'm pretty sure I'm getting way less than 100 thou of bullet into the neck. I'd estimate between 60-100 thou. I'm no rocket scientist, but I'm pretty sure it should be more.

My question: How much of the bullet do I need pressed into the neck? Is 60-100 thou enough? Should I have double that??

Please don't suggest longer or heavier bullets. I've tried 50 and 55 grain bullets with NO luck. I'm trying to keep to the 36 gr and 40 gr bullets. Thanks Guys!!

I just measured my dummy round without the comp and I measure it at 2.486" which is .010" off the lands. My manual (Nosler #6) calls for a total length of 2.350". I know manuals are more like 'guide lines' and not really set in stone laws, but am I just going to be stuck with loading these shorter than I'd like??