how long does the powder burn?

davewilson

i've talked with different engineers at different powder Companies. i still get 2 completely different answers. my question is...when the powders ignites in the chamber, how long, or more importantly, how far down the barrel does the bullet travel, to burn the powder? i've heard it takes long barrels to burn all the powder in our big overbore cartridges. i've also heard the powder burns in the first 3-5" of bullet travel. i've heard you can spread a sheet out and see all the powder that doesn't burn with the short barrels. i've heard the powder is all gone in the first few inches of bullet travel and the pressure just decreases until the bullet departs from the barrel. i've heard both scenario's from the ENGINEERS!

WHICH IS IT?

I have no direct knowledge. I can share what I've observed with Quickload though. Quickload gives you most of the info your asking about. Weather or not you believe what the software puts out is another story. All scenarios are different. Some cartridge/bullet/powder combos burn all the powder in the barrel some don't. Charge weight, and barrel length are factors. If you have a specific cartridge, barrel length, powder, powder charge, and bullet I can post what QL calculates. Based on QL there are no absolutes what so ever. QL will tell you based on what you tell it the bullets barrel time, and percentage of the powder burnt within the barrel among other things.

JM, i understand what you're saying and to be honest, i don't consider quick load much of a reference.

i'm looking for a discussion about the burn time of powder. some "combustion engineers" will tell you it doesn't matter what cartridge you have the powder is burnt before the bullet travels 5-6"
the next "combustion engineer" will tell you it burns while the bullet is traveling down the barrel and that's what all the different burn rates are for.

i'm hoping for a discussion about which way it really is.