how long are chey tac magazines

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by Karl, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. Karl

    Karl Member

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    what is the max COAL for the 408 in these magazines?

    Thanks for any reply.
     
  2. Joel Russo

    Joel Russo Official LRH Sponsor

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    4.565"
     

  3. BobbyL

    BobbyL Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    188
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Its longer then you need it unless you are shooting a really really long bullet. Joel is right you may be able to get more then that even but feeding can become a issue.
     
  4. Karl

    Karl Member

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Thanks guys. Also wondered how wide these magazines are internally?
    Working out whether possible to get an even bigger case to feed in them.Eg made off the 577 Tyrannosaur casehead /or similar to the Viersco magnums. The lawton 8000 and new stiller have dimensions similar to the big game rifles that use these case sizes, so wondered if the CT mag can handle it too. Or is gibbs/408 case the limit?
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2010
  5. Joel Russo

    Joel Russo Official LRH Sponsor

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    .635" at the base of the feed rails. The 505/408 case would be the limit.
     
  6. BobbyL

    BobbyL Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    188
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008

    Yes these mags were built for the cheytac round and if you want to feed something bigger in them then you would need to modify the mag in a un desirable way.
     
  7. Karl

    Karl Member

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Ok thanks guys. There is one very long(3.25"+) cartridge that is essentially 408/gibbs size eg . Rim= .637 but is belted and belt is .653 wdith

    Accomodating that extra belt width would be too much of a modification for the mags then?


    Karl.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
  8. BobbyL

    BobbyL Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    188
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    That should work just fine. It might take a very slight mod but you should run into no problems at all. I have some extras if you need them.