Hornady Leverevolution ammo

jay1957

This has probably been asked and answered several times already on this forum, but I am new here.

I've always been a bolt action man, I own seven centerfire bolt action rifles beginning with the 243 winchester and ending with my latest purchase a Stevens model 200 in 300 Win mag (which I love BTW), about a month ago a pal of mine wanted one of my 870 express Remington shotguns really bad, he had a Marlin 336 in 35 Rem to swap, it was wearing a nice entry level Leupold scope in see thru mounts :rolleyes: (yeah I know) anyway I traded for the rig bought 2 boxes of the new 200 gr ammo and went to my local range.

I didn't expect much in the accuracy department especially given the gawd awful mounting system.......boy was I wrong! the 100 yd average group went just under MOA, moving out to 200 yards I started shooting slow fire 3 shot groups, letting the barrel cool between shots, my best group went into just under 3/4 inch... this is **** good from a lever gun!

My question is how does this bullet preform on game?

Thanks, Jay

I have not shot any game with them myself but I have seen several that were shot using the 444 version. All have dropped in their tracks and had massive internal damage when they were field dressed.

there designed for game and do a pretty job on them I'm shooting them out of my sharps

JIM

Thanks guys, I've yet to shoot anything with them but paper.
I'd like to see it in the 150 gr bullet, now that would be smoking, probably the only drawback would be the short bullet, IMHO this turns the old 35 into a legitimate 300 yard gun.

Jay

theres a bunch of people using that ammo here in mississippi with great results mainly in 45-70 and 444 marlin and some 30-30 and 35 rem.

This has probably been asked and answered several times already on this forum, but I am new here.