Help with my long range shooting

buckbrush

I have been shooting and reloading for 15+ years with the last 3 being devoted to long range shooting. I would guess that I shoot 6-700 rounds a year. I started with a 300 Win Mag that I still have. Since then, I have moved up to a 338 Lapua that I have been shooting for the past year. The farthest group I have ever shot was at 775 yards with the 300 Win Mag. It shot a 3 shot group that was a little over 2" and I was amazed to say the least. With my 338 Lapua, I shot a group at 400 yards that was a tad under 2" so I figured that load to be good as well. My ES for both loads is right around 12 fps.

Here is my issue. At 1000 yards out to 1650 yards (the farthest I have shot) my groups really seem to open up. They appear to be over MOA (like 1.5 or more) but really can't be measured since I just shoot at rocks at that distance. This shooting usually happens on nice calm days as well. I shoot with an Appleseed instructor who seems to think my technique is quite good but I have not thrown that issue out just yet. I don't believe recoil to be an issue since both guns are heavy and have breaks. I have quality glass on them (New IOR 6-24x56 and S&B PMII 5-25x56) as well as quality bases and rings. Both guns were professionally built and bedded.

When hand-loading, I don't do anything special like weight sort brass, bullets, etc. I shoot 208 A-maxes and 300 SMK's. I don't turn necks either. I just weigh each charge and seat the bullet and am done.

Am I missing a major reloading step that is causing my long range accuracy to fall off so noticeably at extended distances or do I need more practice?

Thanks.