Help with math

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by LongRangeNewb, Feb 9, 2012.

1. LongRangeNewb

LongRangeNewb New Member

Ok i'm just starting out and i use a .308 with a 21 inch barrel. I want to be able to make 500 plus yard shots but 500 will do for now. I was wondering how to do the appropriate math for figureing out how to adjust my scope to hit my mark. My scope is 4-16x40mm and has 1/4" MOA at 100 yards. I plan to use federal 168gr. match ammo.
    I was told to calculate the adjustment for the drop was for ex. if my bullet drops 63.3" @ 500 to figure the adjustment to do this.
    63.3/1.047=60.458/5=12.091 MOA is this correct? I need help. I would love for now to be able to make a 500 yard to a 600 yard shot gun). please help and thanks.

2. Scot E

Scot E Well-Known Member

There is a free Ballistic calculator on this site that is fantastic for learning what you are after and much, much more. Get to know it, it will be one of the best things you can do to develop a solid base of external ballistics.

Long Range Hunting Ballistics Calculator

If you are just trying to figure out the math of it all then you are on the right track. I personally would just use 1 inch per MOA to start because that is really easy and until you verify that your specific turrets actually track at exactly 1.047 MOA then you are really just guessing anyway. Plus out to 500 yards the difference between 1.047 and 1 is nil in the grand scheme of hunting or shooting.

HTH,

Scot E.

PS. Welcome to LRH!

3. LongRangeNewb

LongRangeNewb New Member

Thanks :). How do I figure my adjustments for wind, spin drift, and the coriolis effect. I'm positive I'm not gonna need to know the coriolis effect because i'm not gonna shoot that far anytime soon. If theres anything else I need to know to pull a 500 yard shot of please share. I'm eager to learn the correct way so I can shoot properly and safely :)

4. Scot E

Scot E Well-Known Member