Help with 300 Weatherby brass resizing problems

wolff

I am new to reloading and need some advice on what I am doing wrong? I have a 300 Weatherby that I just bought and have some brass that I shot from a different 300. After full length resizing the brass it will not chamber into my new rifle, but the brass that I have shot in my new rifle will. All the brass are from the 3 boxes of factory Weatherby ammo.

Are they both factory rifles? Or is one custom chamber? how are you setting the FL die up? I reload for a 300wby but i only use one rifle. I have bought once fired brass and FL it myself and it chambered fine in my rifle then just neck sized it all after it had been fired in my rifle.

It sounds as if you are not really resizing them. Unless your chamber is extremly small.

When you full length resize you must be sure that the bottom of the die (end of the threads) is compressed against the ram when the stroke is finished. Not just touching it but making you force the ram up the last 1/2 inch or so. Ram should almost "pop" back down.
Thats the best way I can explain it. !!

My 300 is a factory Weatherby and my friends is a custom Sako with a Hart barrel. I dont know more about the Sako. I have the full sizing die set up per Hornady's instructions. I even turned the die's down 2 turn just to make sure and put extra force on the press.

it could be that the chamber in the custom hart barrel is a match chamber, and the FL die will not size the brass small enough do you know where u are running into a problem at? where is the case getting stuck at? can u see marks on the case anywhere?

When I chamber a case and try to close the bolt it will only close about a quarter of the way down.

Mark the shoulder with dry erase marker. Then try to chamber it and remove carefully. Inspect the shoulder - you should see marks.