help sizing .30-378wby brass

30-378shtr

I'm fairly new to reloading and I have some questions about sizing brass. I know the .30-378 is considered a "free-bore" caliber. I've been reading alot about using bushing style dies and I want to try it out. My question is: Does this caliber work better to neck size or use a full length sizer? Do I need to bump the shoulder back? I got a new bbl for my gun and I now want to make sure I feed it the highest quality reloads I can produce. What do you guys think?

I full length resize everything including my competition fodder. I have sized many a 30-378 and in my experience they shot outstanding in the factory rifle while being full length resized.

Agree with the others. For hunting you want to set your dies for a FL size. You might as well do your load developement the same way you are going to hunt. Most benchresters are FL sizing nowadays because they don't want feeding problems at the bench. (although they have special dies that do a minimal resize all the way around). In a normal hunting rifle with a well set up fl die you will get excellent accuracy....probably much better that the average guy can shoot in the field.

here's what I do, in your case run an over sized expander ball into one case, say an 8mm or 338, lube it well!
then start with your resizer screwed way up and resize, trying it in the rifle as you go, when you can close the bolt with just a lil resistance, screw the die in 1/8th to 1/4 turn and lock it down.
your cases are now sized to perfectly fit your chamber. then you can do your normal case prep and load.
RR