Help newbe select a reloading press.

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by encoreguy, Sep 26, 2006.

1. encoreguy

encoreguy Well-Known Member

I am new to reloading and I am collecting my components. I am not a high volume shooter and never will be so speed is not an issue. Precision is the number one concern for me. I want to start out at a modest priced model to see if I like reloading before shelling out big bucks on a better press (like a Forster Co-Ax). Right now I am leaning toward a Lee Classic Cast or RCBS Rockchucker. The Lee runs $60 and the Rockchucker runs $108. I thought that I could save the approx. $50 and use it to buy better dies or other accuracy tools? What are your thoughts.

2. James Jones

James Jones Well-Known Member

For that budget I'd use the Rockchucker but its worth the extra money to get a Co-Ax now , they are awsome very accurate ammo very quick die change their worth every penny. buy one now for $180 and you'll have saved yourself $100 next year when you want to replace the RCBS.

But realy the RCBS and Redding single stage presses are great , I still use a little RCBS Partner press a good bit for

3. Eaglet

Eaglet Well-Known Member

I agree with JDJones.

4. lovdasnow

lovdasnow Well-Known Member

i have the rockchucker and like it. start with at least the rockchucker and save yourself some $$ in the long run

5. sniper2

sniper2 Well-Known Member

I have a RCBS but would recomend a Lyman...

6. duckinalaska

duckinalaska Well-Known Member

Hey bud,
    I just do this stuff for fun. I use the rockchucker.

7. Len Backus

Len Backus Administrator Staff Member

encoreguy

I have an extra Forster Coax press that I will sell for $120 plus $10 shipping.

8. Reloader

Reloader Well-Known Member

I like the Classic Cast. I like it better than the RCBS actually. The other Lee presses aren't the greatest by any means but, they've put out a pretty nice single stage w/ the new CC.