Help! New to the sport...

Discussion in 'Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards' started by viking92, Nov 29, 2009.

1. viking92

viking92 New Member

I am new to coyote hunting, well I guess I went out a couple times last winter with my friends and got hooked. I have always been a hunter, just not coyotes. Anyways, I was wondering if you guys have any ideas on some inexpensive calls I could get my hands on that would work? And how do I identify the best places to sit? There are lots of coyotes around although I don't see them very often. Any help would be great!!

Thanks,
    Seth

2. royinidaho

royinidaho Writers Guild

Welcome aboard. I'll give some of my thoughts based on my own experience. Some good some not so good.:D

See above.....

Have fun......

3. viking92

viking92 New Member

Thank you so much for your help! I am from North Dakota so seeing a long ways isnt the trouble finding a higher point is sometimes. Last year I only went out a couple times by myself, and found it frustrating when I couldn't call any in, but I am sure this will help me out immensly.

Thanks again!

4. Rymart

Rymart Well-Known Member

I'll add my tips. I am assuming that you are hunting some pretty wide open country, similar to what I usually hunt.

Hope this helps you. It took me years to figure some of this out.

5. ARPredatorHunters

ARPredatorHunters Well-Known Member

Best sounding hand calls, IMO, come from Arkyyoter. You can google him up. Since you live in North Dakota you pretty much just have to sit down and call and you will end up killing coyotes. You can also read the few articles I have written on here which are geared towards the beginning coyote killer.

6. cal74

cal74 Well-Known Member

I'm basically in the same boat, hunted my whole life but this is all new to me.

Ice fishing seems to keep going down hill the last few years, our deer population SUCKS so I figured I needed to look other places.