HELP- I WANT TO IMPROVE ACCURACY OF MY SAKO!!

toader

I have a Sako 75 chambered in .300 Win Mag and it pillar bedded on a McMillan "EDGE" series stock. I would like to improve accuracy of the rifle and have some questions.

Will a new barrel (Lijla, Krieger etc...) help ?

Can a good Gunsmith "accurize" my action?

If I get a new barrel installed, is it easier to re-chamber at that point? (thinking .338 Win Mag)

Does Fiftydriver- Kirby do this kind of work? I don't trust any riflesmiths in my area!!

Please help - I am new to this, so I apologize if some questions seem way out there!!

Thanks guys!!

First off, what kinda groupings are you getting at what range?? Yes a lilja barrel and an accurized receiver will greatly improve your accuracy. Most of all you'll probly notice it to be a lot more consistent.

A little more information...

This is my hunting rifle -
*It shoots 3/4" groups at 100 yds with Federal Premium ammo(180 grain AccuBond)

*It is pillar bedded in a McMillan Stock

*Has a muzzle brake on it

*Swarovski AV 3.5-10x42 scope

I'm basically looking to turn this rifle into a "semi-custom" rifle. I have a cople of hunts booked over the next couple of years, and I want this gun to be "old reliable" - Accurate as I can make it without actually having a new rifle built.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated too!!

Thanks.

Well 3/4 groups with factory ammo aint bad. If you can reload getting closer to the lands of the rifle could tighten up the groups. Reloading can improve a rifle more than anything else as long as it is a good setup. Sounds like your rig is set up nice as is so I would say get to reloading and you can get her nice.

Steve

I agree with what the others say.

I would first try some reloading and with quality components and a good job you should be able to reduce your groups.