*help* coyote loads for 6.5x284

Discussion in 'Coyote Hunting - From 10 Yards to over 1,000 Yards' started by btLRH, Jan 17, 2012.

1. btLRH

btLRH Member

Im new to long range hunting and just got a Savage LRH 111 in 6.5x284. With it came a box of HSM 140 grain VLD. (Berger 140 gr VLD). With this ammo I've shot two coyotes. The first didnt do too much damage of only about a 2 inch hole. But the hole on the second coyote was a whopping 7 inches. I'd like a bullet that would be fur friendly but not too sure what to get. Maybe around the 100 gr to 120 gr area. Just something that isnt gonna take the shoulder out of a coyote. I'm looking to get money for the pelts and dont really want to use a different rifle cause im in love with this one! I can now also reload my own so any data or info would be greatly appreciated!

2. Len Backus

Len Backus Administrator Staff Member

The target version of that bullet has a thicker jacket and won't expand much.

3. Tikkamike

Tikkamike Well-Known Member

a controlled expansion type bullet like a Barnes Tipped Tripple shock works very well on coyotes and doesnt come apart and blow big holes. They are also very accurate

4. btLRH

btLRH Member

What do you guys think about Lapua 144gr FMJ. I see that their BC is .636. And fmj definately shouldnt punch much of a hole out.

5. Tikkamike

itll definitley kill them, if your lapua is anything like mine its not really the ideal calling gun, mine is a little big, but it will definitley work

6. btLRH

btLRH Member

well im shooting the Savage LRH 111. so far i have no comlaints other then the stock.

7. Tikkamike

what is wrong with the stock? my buddy is looking at getting one, he might like to know what you think of the stock

8. btLRH

btLRH Member