Havinfg some issues with my M 70

cmillett79

I just got back a couple months ago from Iraq .. Before I left I decided to send my NIB ss classic 300win mag (NOT the new FN version) to HCR to have it set in an hs precision and accurized ... Well now Im back and have waited for some cool mornings to shoot this rig.... I shot factory ammo out of it , Federal Prem. 165 nosler solid base which best group was arund .80", Then I shot some 180 gr PowerPoints and was able to get 1.25".....At 1st I thought it was just me untill I went back into my gun volt and shot some of my other rifes , well it wasnt me..... So after this I started shooting at 250yds with the 165s and was only able to get 5" groups ! I stacked them in there with my custom M700 300saum ??? It cant be me I keep thinking... I noticed the trigger wasnt to my liking so much so I took the action out and dropped a about 1lb off the trigger to where I like it...... I put the rifle back together and torqued the action screw (not the front trgger screw) to 65"lbs......I shot and loved the trigger but my groups were worse !?!? At this point Im getting seriously ****ed....Shot her at 200yds and again 5" groups with the Fed prem. ammo....Let me back up a bit before going on, I got this rifle to have a "standard" magnum in my collection and also for a 400-500 yd deer/elk rifle...I sent it to HCR so I wouldnt have to reload for it an just shoot fact. ammo....Back to present , I backed the action screws out and retorqued them to 55-60"lbs..The groups closed up a bit , not enough to my liking...

Well looks like I will have to reload for this rifle since I dont wanna spend my savings on trying dfferent brands of fact ammo..

Any suggestions on what to try with the rifle ?

BTW , I will be using a 165-180gr Ballistic Tip out to 500yds for deer.. For elk I will be using 180-200gr Partitions,again out to 500yds ... Some reload suggestion would be appreciated for both .

Last edited: