GPS Map over lay help

Discussion in 'Maps, GPS and Google Earth' started by BriggsRi, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. BriggsRi

    BriggsRi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I have a Garmin 60CSx and I really like it, but the internal maps do no show topo details.

    I purchased the New Mexico Land State Topo / BLM maps and this will allow me to over lay my way points / trips on my GPS unit, but how do I down load this info to my computer to review in full detail? When I down load my trip information it's based on the internal Garmin maps info with out the topo map / chip info.

    Basically, I want to overlay my trip info over the topo maps and have this down loaded to my computer for later review / hunt planning.

    Thanks,

    Rick
     
  2. Dr. Vette

    Dr. Vette Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,033
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Do you have the Garmin MapSource program?

    I "think" that you can do it using that program, as I was able to do it before loading maps onto Dad's Nuvi for his recent antelope trip.

    Garmin: MapSource Updates & Downloads
     

  3. BriggsRi

    BriggsRi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I did not purchase the the Garmin MapSource program. All I have is the basic GPS unit and the NM topo BLM chip.

    Sounds like I'm going to have to drop another $100 and pick up the Garmin MapSource program as well.
     
  4. ilscungilli

    ilscungilli Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
  5. GPSmaps

    GPSmaps Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Yes, you can download Basecamp for Free (Garmin's new version of MapSource). But it will only come with a Global Basemap like the one that came with your GPS (only main highways and cities - no topo)

    You will need our download version of the New Mexico map, which you are welcome to use for Free on the computer. Just PM me your email address and name and I will set you up in our download system
     
  6. BriggsRi

    BriggsRi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Awesome, thanks PM coming at you!
     
  7. GPSmaps

    GPSmaps Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    OK, your account has been created.

    Use this unlock code to unlock the map for use only on your computer:
    J97P6-A2PT8-SRNSM-YUSCZ-F3U7H
     
  8. BriggsRi

    BriggsRi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Ok, I just spent 1 hr down loading the map info and followed the install instructions - opened up the map source program and it is asking for the unlock code. The program will not allow me to enter the code when I click on install button, I just get a re-install message.

    I must be missing something or do I just need to re-install the program?

    Thanks,
     
  9. GPSmaps

    GPSmaps Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Are you using BaseCamp software from Garmin or MapSource? Sounds like you may need to update your MapSource.

    Call me and we can trouble shoot - number is on our website

    Not sure what you mean by the install button - you need to click on the 'Add' button to unlock the map
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2010
  10. BriggsRi

    BriggsRi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    GPSmaps,

    Thanks, I'm up and running 100%

    Now where is the button / application that tells me where all of the Deer, Elk, & big cats are hiding :D

    Thanks, again!