Getting Started -- $4,200 Budget, Western NY

tensix

I'm just getting started with long range shooting and big game hunting. I'm 21 and planning on purchasing a rifle for myself as my 22nd birthday present. I'm currently deployed to Afghanistan with the USMC so I figure it would be a good use of my deployment money. I'm willing to budget up to $4,200 between rifle and optics. If the quality is there and I can justify it mentally, I will spend up to $5,000 (that's one full stateside paycheck if you're wondering).

I would like to shoot something chambered in a .300WM although the less-powerful .308 or .30-06 are okay by me. I love the two .30-06s that I've shot. I have shot up to 600 yards (paper targets) with a .30-06 and I've qualified on my M16A4 at 500 yards. I would like to extend this range to 800 to 1000 yards as a technical challenge to myself.

I am planning on purchasing the rifle for both hunting and target shooting. I have never gone big game hunting but I intend to start next fall once I return stateside. I am done putting it off because of the cost or because I can't find people to hunt with. I have hunted small game with both a bow and a .22LR. I'll go it alone if I have to.

I am looking for a quality rifle that I can rely on for years as well. I own a Remington .32 single shot from the late 1870s that still shoots reliably (and groups at 2 inches at 100 yards!) which belonged to my great-great-grandfather. I would like a rifle that I can at least share with my child someday.

I have looked at the following rifles:
Remington Model 700 Sendero SF II
Remington Model 700 SPS
FN A1
Weatherby Vanguard Series 2
Savage Arms 11/111
Savage Model 10 FPXP
Steyr SSG 04
Tikka T3
Sako A7 ST