Getting in to Long range rifle competition.

Ian B

Hello I am new here I've been shooting rifle for a good many years and never had the chance to get involved in long range rifle competitions tho I always wanted to I figure its now or never I'm looking to do F class or other similar not BR or Palma tho I don't have a set up for that. problem is and the question I am posting in this thread is I can find almost no information to even register for this in my state I can only find a few articles that focus more on what the matches are about and the gear to use etc that being said I know that I am going to have to travel quite a distance being that the only 1000 yard range in pa I know of is about a 4 hour drive away from me and most of theses competitions are probably not in pa thankfully I live right next to a 300 yard range that I practice on frequently with reduced targets:). I still have a lot to learn but I am willing to put the time money and effort in to this so if there is someone that can help me out and point me in the right direction from my state any info would be appreciate.

Welcome to the forum Ian.

There are a few places that offer F-Class matches that are within driving distance. Quantico, VA, Reade Range in Tyrone, PA, Thunder Valley, Ohio just off the top of my head. I know that Thunder Valley was recently leased, but they will still hold informal tactical and F-Class matches.

There are a few guys on here from PA that have shot at Quantico, and report that the environment is informal and fun. I'm sure they will chime in and give the specifics.