Funny velocity maybe?

Ksmirk

Well finally got the 284 Win to go boom this past weekend and well the first few rounds through the chrony had me puzzled! pleased yes but puzzled. My whole intention of this trip was to get some load data, velocities, and season the barrel and see how everything worked. I loaded some 175gr. Sierra BTSP since they were cheap and I was not looking to sling my A-Maxes away. I am going to post my powder and results but please if you try these work your way up!

Bullet = Sierra BTSP (pn1940)
Powder = Hybrid100V
Primer = GM210M
Case = Winchester
COL = 3.015"

50.0 = 2715fps
50.5 = 2742fps
51.0 = 2785fps
51.5 = 2815fps
52.0 = 2816fps
52.5 = 2854fps
53.0 = 2849fps

Now I'm new to the 284 Win but these velocities seem a tad high! I checked the chrony with a known 243 load and it clocked 5fps slower than normal so I'm a bit puzzled by this, anyone out there play with a 284 Win? Now I had absolutely no pressure signs at all which I really was thinking I would hit but nothing! Your thoughts on this? Later,

Kirk

It could very well be the powder. Hodgdon Hybrid100V is still quite new and It may be your rifle likes it alot. How is accuracy?

I have a .30-06 AI with a 26" Kreiger bbl that will shoot quite a bit faster than the Quick load data for the load I'm shooting. About 75-100fps faster. And I have the same situation with no pressure signs with comercial brass. Using Fireformed Military is a diffrent story. I can get the same velocity with 1 grain less.

The listed velocitys are just guide lines anyway. usually the real loads are on the slower side.

Dan

Also what was the weather like? If it was cold or cooler, I'd watch those loads on a hot day, maybe the pressure signs would show up then.

Last edited:
Ok here's the info, if you could plug it in and see what comes up I could at least have something to compair too.

McGowen 26" 1-9 twist barrel
Mauser action
SAMMI min chamber reamer throated for 162 A-Max at a 3.100" COL
Winchester brass