Funny velocity maybe?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Ksmirk, Mar 19, 2009.

1. Ksmirk

Ksmirk Well-Known Member

Well finally got the 284 Win to go boom this past weekend and well the first few rounds through the chrony had me puzzled! pleased yes but puzzled. My whole intention of this trip was to get some load data, velocities, and season the barrel and see how everything worked. I loaded some 175gr. Sierra BTSP since they were cheap and I was not looking to sling my A-Maxes away. I am going to post my powder and results but please if you try these work your way up!

Bullet = Sierra BTSP (pn1940)
    Powder = Hybrid100V
    Primer = GM210M
    Case = Winchester
    COL = 3.015"

50.0 = 2715fps
    50.5 = 2742fps
    51.0 = 2785fps
    51.5 = 2815fps
    52.0 = 2816fps
    52.5 = 2854fps
    53.0 = 2849fps

Now I'm new to the 284 Win but these velocities seem a tad high! I checked the chrony with a known 243 load and it clocked 5fps slower than normal so I'm a bit puzzled by this, anyone out there play with a 284 Win? Now I had absolutely no pressure signs at all which I really was thinking I would hit but nothing! Your thoughts on this? Later,

Kirk

2. Stormrider

Stormrider Well-Known Member

QuickLoad says that your max is 51.5g at a pressure of 63,337 psi. The max is 63,815. Velocity came out to be 2770 with a 26" bbl. Lots of variables that I can't know so this is generic.

3. Dano1

Dano1 Well-Known Member

It could very well be the powder. Hodgdon Hybrid100V is still quite new and It may be your rifle likes it alot. How is accuracy?

I have a .30-06 AI with a 26" Kreiger bbl that will shoot quite a bit faster than the Quick load data for the load I'm shooting. About 75-100fps faster. And I have the same situation with no pressure signs with comercial brass. Using Fireformed Military is a diffrent story. I can get the same velocity with 1 grain less.

The listed velocitys are just guide lines anyway. usually the real loads are on the slower side.

Dan