First long range Rifle

HellBentSoilder

Hello everyone,

I have hunted with a 30-30 and 30-06 for a long time however I suffered a cervical injury a while back and I can no longer use my 30-06 without issues. So I am really considering a 6.5x284 rifle. I have found a savage long range hunter in this caliber for near $900 however with that price tag I am wondering if I should look into piecing a rifle together and perhaps have higher quality parts (not really fond of the accustock that it had on it). I have not looked into what glass to put on the rifle as I figure I should lock down the rifle first and then begin looking into glass under the $400 price point (I've always used iron sites and was a closer combat person while in military so Glass is going to be a diff headache lol)

I am just getting started into reloading as well so anyone have real world experience on loading this caliber? If so any suggestion would be great as well.

Thanks in advance

You could find an older or used Remington 700 .270 Win or .30-06 and have it trued & rebarreled and chambered to 6.5-284 and put a B&C Medalist on it, you should be around $1,250 or so in a custom rifle...Which, IMO beats any off-the-shelf gun, for just a little bit more money.

I have been told the long action is better for the 6.5-284 because you can seat the longer high-BC bullets closer to the lands and still be able to use the gun as a repeater for hunting, whereas the short-a tion you will have to shorten the COL of the loaded round to load them into the magazine, which can hinder you from being able to take full advantage of accuracy and adjustability and seating depth of the long bullets.

Just simply my opinion.

We have a lot of real fans of the savages here at LRH.

Question though, have you considered just putting a good muzzle brake on your 06?

What are your intentions for the future with this rifle? Targets or game? If game what game and at what ranges?