First Long-Range Experience

icon

Hello everyone. I am new to the sport of long range hunting and new to this board. I wanted to introduce myself and share my first LRH experience.

I live in the northern portion of Kentucky, but all of my extended family is from western Oklahoma and Texas. For years, I have made multiple trips to OK each year for quail and turkeys. But last year, I made my first trip for whitetail.

I was hunting with my brother, who had invited his father-in-law and brother-in-law. His father-in-law builds custom long-range rifles and he was kind enough to bring a beautiful 7mm STW for me to use.

My brother and I were hunting along the Canadian River near Roll, OK. We were positioned on a hillside roughly 60' high overlooking the wide, flat river bottom, broken with trees, brush and an occasional wheat field. It was late afternoon and we had seen several does, but were waiting for a buck to show itself. My brother detected some movement to the south about 500 yds way. A doe was running to the south, away from our position. And, sure enough, there was a buck following not far behind.

She finally stopped around 800 yds away and the buck stopped not far from her. It was difficult to determine the size of the buck, but through the Leupold binoculars, it appeared to be an 8-point shooter -- nothing spectacular, but we only had one more day to hunt and this was the best buck we'd seen all day.

We kept an eye on them for quite some time hoping they would work their way back toward us before the daylight waned -- I figured we only had about 45 minutes left to get a shot.

There was another hilltop to the south about 250 yds away that would offer at least a hope getting a shot, but there was a steep ravine between it and our current position. I decided to try to make the move while my brother stayed and kept an eye on the deer. We didn't have radios, so we quickly devised some hand signals so we could communicate as I worked my way over.