First focal plane or Second focal plane?

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by sporty061200r, Apr 2, 2011.

  1. sporty061200r

    sporty061200r Member

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    After hearing some replies form senior members on scope recomendations
    Selecting A Tactical Rifle Scope - Articles: Instructional - Blog Articles - CS TACTICAL I had one last on scope selection several people have said tht second focal plane scopes require more math when figuring the shot is this really a issue that would disswade someone from buying a nightforce scope? I was under the inmpression that scope that were offered in the second focal plane was a higher end scope are there more benifits to one of the other... all help is appreciated thanks
     
  2. royinidaho

    royinidaho Writers Guild

    Messages:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004

    My personal favorite by a long shot is the FFP reticle. Yes, less thinkin goes into hold over determination at different powders.

    A GREAT BIG NO! as far as dissuading from the NXS purchase. My last purchase was an NXS. I'm way more confident in clicking than hold over.

    My two bits.....
     

  3. davewilson

    davewilson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    just get a Nightforce in FFP.
     
  4. MTBULLET

    MTBULLET Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,058
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    myself i prefer the hold over method when hunting and target shooting, just used it for so long I guess.
    the choice becomes one of personal prefrence in regard to which scope you buy/use. decide what you want to use the rifle for most, then pick the scope that does the job for you. all major mfgs. have great optics, and some will "look better" ie: clearer/sharper to you. ffp and sfp both work very well, so pick the one you like best and learn how to use it.​
     
  5. royinidaho

    royinidaho Writers Guild

    Messages:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004

    I agree with your hold over feelings. I was, and still have major tendencies in that direction and will most probably never get over it.

    I hold over w/my carry gun out to 880 yards, top of post 5 mils holdover. I would be much more comfortable with an MOA reticle than the Mil one I have.

    I'm pretty certain that when and if the pressure is on for a quick second shot with the NF scope that there will be no clicking between.lightbulb

    My goal, however, is to make a complete switch to clicking, but life may not be quite long enough.:rolleyes:
     
  6. sporty061200r

    sporty061200r Member

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Thanks everyone for the responses be a newcomer to the sport all the choices are a bit overwhelming I like the idea of the bdc turrets just find the yardage and click... but that would tie that scope to that caliber until sending it in and changing it out... I figure I will stick with the second focal plane and just learn it / as far as the reticle goes after looking a bit I kinda like the mil/ mil combo I have noticed that the nightforce it a bit more expensive with this combo but there is no comverting from mil to moa... once again thanks for the responses since I am just starting out I want to get it right / but I am learning there is right or wrong just prefrance and since I am unfamiliar I have to get a feel for the majority of Prefrance from the shooting community... thanks againgun)
     
  7. MTBULLET

    MTBULLET Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,058
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    look at the Zeiss "Z" reticle, no need to send in when changing load/cal/rifle,
    I use the z-800 on .300rum, .243AI, and one 22-250, and at first i switched them around according to the season. now they are dedicated to one rifle.
     
  8. Jackal11

    Jackal11 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    256
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    +1 I agree
     
  9. mike33

    mike33 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    898
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    On your zeiss what power do you have to be on for hold over. i was looking some time ago at them and it appeared you had to be a few powers less then the maxium power. if that was correct what i was reading that wouild be confusing.
    mike
     
  10. MTBULLET

    MTBULLET Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,058
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    the power is adjusted relative to the fps, using the zeiss web site tool, and i don't find it confusing. If i have enough time to do the glassing/ranging/wind dope/etc. , I have plenty of time to move the power selector.
     
  11. mike33

    mike33 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    898
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    I understand using there table but dont you have to have the power selector on certain power not the highest.
     
  12. MTBULLET

    MTBULLET Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,058
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    it depends on the cal. and fps, some calibers/fps match the lines at the highest power.
     
  13. ken snyder

    ken snyder Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    420
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    I enjoy the topic of scopes. Just a plain ole mill dot for me. B.D.C. needs the bullet bc and velocity tailored to work with the scope. m.o.a. is too much thinking. A milli radian is always 1/1000th the distance to the target no matter what your shooting, even a sling shot. mill is extremely good for measuring distances as well, if you know the approximate size of your target you know the distance to your target, with very little practice you will learn to instantly use those dots for hold-over and never once mess around twisting knobs on your scope (but it sure looks cool, those big ole knobs sticking way out and and readjusting themselves on every branch you walk by and don't forget to twist em back every time you use them).