Fine tuning my hand loads

billy53

I'm new to your forum and have been hand loading for many years but I'm still learning. I've gotten hooked on Long Range and got my first custom a 7MM STW with a 24" Krieger Barrel, Montana 99 action, Bell and Carlson stock, had a 20 moa picatinny rail with over sized mount screws and varmint brake installed. I've got her broken in and found a load she seems to like which is Nosler 168gr. Accubond LR, behind 79.3 grains of Retumbo (no sticking in chamber, primer shows some pressure signs, took it up to 79.5 still no sticking and group started to open up). Shooting several 10 shot strings my average velocity runs about 3030 fps with an ES that runs in the 50 to 55 range and a SD 19 to 21 depending on the outside temp the day I shoot. She'll shoot inside an inch most days at 200 yards if I do my job right but these days I've got a built in shake which some days is worse than others. My question is will that kind of load take me out past 800 yards or is there something I can be doing with my loads. I prep my brass so they are trimmed to .001 of each other, turn the necks, bump the head space about .001, anneal my brass after 3 rounds, weight each powder charge the same according to my scale, seat my bullets to within .0015, sort my brass by weight and sort my bullets by weight as well. These are all new process to me so I hope I'm doing it right as I'm self taught. Any help would be help would be accepted gladly.

Billy, just a few opinions.

1. I think your load is too extreme. In your place I'd see if I couldn't find something more moderate.
Try running the OCW routine (OCW Overview - Dan Newberry's OCW Load Development System) to help you find the sweet spot.

2. Faster is not always better. Even if you're MV got down to 2800 FPS you should still be super-sonic beyond 1000 yards.