Fine Tuning @ 1300

jackem

I'm new to all this and have new equipment that I'm attempting to get working together. I have a 338LM, a G7 NF scope, and a B7 LRF. I still using factory HSM 300 gr VLDs, reloading is this winter's project...

Previously I was hitting consistently 2 - 3 feet high at 1300 yards so I adjusted the muzzle velocity in the G7 to correct, of course I first reduced muzzle velocity just to confuse myself, and ended up adjusting the FPS from 2780 to 2840 once I figured out the correct direction of adjustment. :rolleyes:

With the light going fast and the wind going from a measured nothing to 5 mph I fired the last 3 rounds. Obviously I did not read the breeze correctly with a horizontal spread of 18". But the vertical spread, including the third shot in the dirt beside the plate, was about 6''.

I believe I can get the yardage, dial in a correction and be very close vertically. However, with winds 0 - 5 which is about as good of conditions as one can hope for, I was disappointed in the horizontal spread. I was shooting prone with bipods.

Any suggestions or pointers?

Attachments

• 2012-09-27 19.40.42.jpg
    2012-09-27 19.40.42.jpg
    25.3 KB · Views: 15
At 1170m 18" or worse, horizontal is what you get if you are not on top of what the wind does. On can, certainly with the 338LM, shoot much better than that - But then you better watch the wind, near, far and in between.

K

Truth is I was really happy to have the elevation dialed in close enough for hits and didn't pay enough attention to the wind.

However, feeling/seeing the difference of less than 5 mph wind, while getting the shot off is gonna be a challenge for me I think...

Yep, wouldnt be much fair if if it was different for you.
K

True. I'm wondering if a 0-5 wind was enough to cause that big of a horizontal spread? I suspect its not and if wind and the shooter are all that control horizontal spread(?) then something I'm doing or not doing is effecting the spread.