Field rests

Ian M

We all have to rest our rifles when we make long shots. Harris bipods and a rear sandbag do a great job for many styles of hunting and types of rifles, particularly prone shots.
There are some hunts where Harris's are a little too cumbersome, catching on vegetation or just not high enough.
I have been shooting off Underwood shooting sticks for several years and consider them a great tool. Light, quick to setup, very reliable. Stoney Point makes a similar set of sticks.
Recently I started carrying a Stoney Point telescoping bipod called a Polecat, and the more I use it the more I like it. The Polecat is a little bigger and bulkier than the sticks but it will also do more. I really like it for sitting shots, where vegetation eliminates prone shooting. It is extremely sturdy, quick to adjust and useable as a walking staff. The ultimate set-up is to put the Polecat on a 25-45 degree angle under the forend and a set of sticks angled in the opposite direction under the buttstock. I can take my hands right off the rifle and it does not move at all.
Alternately I found that if I can get my back against a tree or brush I don't need the buttstock rest. I like to take an analytical look at the crosshair movement when I set up on these field rests - the Polecat is allowing a very steady hold from the sitting position - virtually no movement at 100-200 yards if you do your part. We are making hits on large
Polecats and sticks are not for extreme range but I have found them to be good hunting tools for out to 600 yards for my rifles and ability.

Great idea. Here is another taken in part from the US military. Use a camera tripod.