Factory Ammo and Long Range??

StoneCold

This may seem like an odd question, but here goes.

Let's say you want to shoot deer/elk out to a max of 700 yards. Rifle can be whatever you want. (Feel free to make suggestions). Which caliber / ammo would you use if you didn't want to reload?? I ask because I have been chronoing many loads for a few years now. The only factory ammo that meets its velocity claims are Weatherby. Sometimes the High energy / light magnum will and the new WSM's are close, but weatherby pretty much always does. If a guy was starting out and had limited time which route would you go??

I know it has been said Long Range and factory ammo don't go together. But, If you used only factory what would you use and how far would you shoot to??

What platform would you shoot it from??

StoneCold

PS: I have been shooting for quite a while. I do reload for my long range stuff. I have friends that might like to do it, but it seems pretty daunting to have to get gear, and reloading stuff, and learn how to use it all. (I don't have time to load for them too! I know it would be cheaper to load their own too....)

First off no matter what your going to shoot at 700 yrds. you need to do alot of practicing, as you know if your doing some longer renge shooting now. Then there is the problem of finding a factory rifle and ammo combo that is capible of that kind of accuracy. Then you will need a real good range finder befor you go to the field. To do it right you need a custom rifle, high dollar optics, a good range finder and loading your own really helps.

Catfish, I disagree. I'm no expert here, my longest shots are only a little over 400 yds. This was done with a factory rifle that was accurized and factory ammo. I know 400 yds is not the same as 700, but I think it can be done. Just my opinion.