Exbal Ballistic Reticle Analysis Question

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by KTrot, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. KTrot

    KTrot New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    I have exbal and understand most of it but am having a hard time with the Ballistic Reticle Analysis program. I have a Leupold 8.5-25x x50 30mm scope with a varmit reticle. I actually have several questions. Is this the large or small reticle? Is the reticle in the second focal plane? What is the calibration power? I have tried the program in the field and sighted in so that the first bar would be close at 400, the second at 500 and the third at 600. At 400 yards it was very close, but at 500 and 600 yards it shot way high. Im sure I am not doing something right as the program has worked great when I use the dial up method for long range. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. mikebob

    mikebob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    400
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    i have a vx3 with a varmit reticle and you have to go by the little book that comes with it. It tells you at what range to zero and what triangle to put the power selector on to match your caliber, bullet, fps. You can go to leupold.com and download the manual for the varmit reticle.
     

  3. mikebob

    mikebob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    400
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    I just looked at the manual and for all the calibers listed they zero at 200 yards or 300 yards for very fast calibers. My 300 mag with 180 AB @ 3100 fps zero is at 200 yards and large triangle.
     
  4. 300rum

    300rum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Hi,
    I got Exball 2 days ago, and The same I have hard time to setup Exball on my Shooting Zoom Setings.

    On Balistic Reticle Analysis - Optimize Operating Power, I want to calibrate and generate bullet drop in MIL's and Clicks NOT IN 20X (factory Calibration Power Scope) but in 16x (Operating Power zoom).

    All the time I got just in 20x. Is bother me because I used 16x.
    How about is I crank the scope at 10x, or 12x, did Exball have a option to generate the drop in MILS at this variable power zoom?????
    If yes! HOW!!!!

    Thanks
    Chris
     
  5. Eaglet

    Eaglet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    300RUM,
    What scope and type of reticle do you have?
     
  6. sscoyote

    sscoyote Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,255
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Ktrot, i'm sure that Gerald set up his VH reticle so the subtensions would be at the highest power since he has the subtension change with magnification change option in there.

    When u wish to use a different power for different reticle subtension, u must always click the 2nd focal plane box, that's somewhere on that same pg. I haven't used this feature lately since i always calculate interpolative (between stadia) zeroing and windage. Mils, MOA, user defined, whatever reticle u have should be in there or easily defined. Any 2nd focal plane reticle subtension can be manipulated with power change ratio on that pg. U have to play with it some to get the hang of it.
     
  7. 300rum

    300rum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    I tryed, but the Exbal is not let me save the changes!!! I don't know why??
    My Scope have MILDOT Reticle...
    Maybe I forgot someting to do, or the step order????

    Chris
     
  8. 300rum

    300rum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    MILDOT.
    I have the Paija Excel Modified file for my scope, but I got Exbal and I want to switch 100% to Exbal. The only problem is I CAN NOT SETUP TO GENERATE A BULLET DROP IN MILS AT 16X POWER SCOPE. Just at 20x.
    I already compare both programs, and are verry close 1click at 800yards., and at big game is not that crucial a difference of 1click@800yards when you are shooting a 200AB with 300 rem ultra magnum rifle.

    If you can setup this option in your exbal and get the right drop in mils at 16x then please let me know...

    Thanks
    Chris
     
  9. Eaglet

    Eaglet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    300RUM,
    I tried, but could not make heads of tails. Sorry!
     
  10. jwp475

    jwp475 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,595
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    If your Exbal program is like mine then the Ballistics analysis feature will not work with a Leupold Varmint reticle..The program works with the Nightforce Reticles which are in Mills or MOA the Leupold Varmint reticle is niether....
     
  11. Eaglet

    Eaglet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    jwp475,
    Not to long ago I got the newest version and decided to check on that, and it does have for Leupold Varmint reticle, two of them.

    [​IMG]