Exbal and the G'S

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by jeff 300, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. jeff 300

    jeff 300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    882
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Is there any way to use a G7 on EXBAL ????? I have not figured out a way to use a G7. Are am i missing something here. I've been using a G1 for my edge shooting 300SMK's and have a little trouble getting every thing to work out just right at all distances and thinking of trying the G7 to see if it would help. And what G1 BC is every one using for 300SMK'S pushing them at 2890-2900FPS.
    What do you think
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2010
  2. eddybo

    eddybo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,651
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    I could not find a way to make it work on mine, but have not lost any sleep over it. I just got a droid phone and downloaded "shooter" for it. It does allow use of the g7 BC. I am not sure that I will ever be able to kick the exbal habit, but the "shooter" program looks pretty interesting.
     

  3. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    The NF program (Exbal) doesn't accept the G7 BC's. No mater what you do or where you go, it is programed for G1.

    I've personally recently whitnessed (as the spotter) some discrepancies of the NF program VS actual field drops at distances between 700 and 950 yds. The same exact bullet at the same velocities you mentioned was shooting higher (quite a bit higher on some days) than the program suggested. We also noticed less wind drift than the program was calling for. The old Sierra program didn't help any either (still G1) It agreed pretty close with the Nightforce program. (Kestrel real field data (Alt by GPS, temp, BP, RH, ect) was accounted for and input into the programs).

    I'd been thinking that the amount of sunlight and mirage was partly to blame, and the real/true click value on the scope knobs was contributing too, but forgot about the new G7 BC's.............maybe something to that....??
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  4. jeff 300

    jeff 300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    882
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Thats what I'm talking about. I'm able to make the shots at my ranch but only because i know the yardage and the moa value for that given spot/yardage because i shoot there all the time. not going off of what exbal might be saying to do for that day. i have really noticed it this year sense i have started to shoot out to 1250-1500. Once i have exbal given the right moa for 1250 my other yardages are off are the other way around.

    I think i remember Kirby or Shawn saying they were using a BC of .800 for 300SMK at are around 2900 does any one know what G1 BC is working the best for the 300SMK. i was thinking that was a little to high but what do i know

    I sure would like to get this worked out because i want to be able to trust my program exbal are what ever I'm using. As long as i put in the right info i want it give out the right info.

    I have the program thats on the iphone BFT so i guess I'll have to try and play around with it and the G7 to see if it works any better for me. I just like exbal being on my PDA a lot better than my Iphone.
     
  5. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,840
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    From what I've experienced with Exbal you need to work with multiple BC's to get the stars aligned. A simple trajectory validation will get you out to 1000yrds ish then I switch over to LoadBase 3.0 from there and am GTG to 1450 yrds.
    Broz has had good luck with trajectory validating in the 700-800yrd mark then again at 1000yrds and he gets them out there a long ways.

    Have you saved a sight in trajectory or are you guys just running field conditions?

    I'm thinking that may cause some issues, on the day you do a trajectory validation you are in essentially validating it during a specific field condition so saving those, then working of that base line may tighten the calculation, haven't tested it to see yet if it will make a difference for sure but it is something to think about.
     
  6. jeff 300

    jeff 300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    882
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Yep thats what I've done as well. With A trajectory validation i was mostly GTG out to a 1000 but after that it has went to hell past a 1000. I've saved my sight in conditions on my iphone with BFT but not with EXBAL on my PDA not sure i can. I'm going to try the G7 with my iphone to see how this works out. I'm going to start over this weekend with every thing new. Check my speed and then do another trajectory validation all the way to 1500 and get some good hard info on my load and rifle. Then play with the numbers to try and get it all to match up.
     
  7. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,840
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
  8. eddybo

    eddybo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,651
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    jeff not sure this will help you but I was using a stepped Bc with the 300 smks. I know I was using .84 from the muzzle at 3200fps and dropped to .8? at around 2700 fps. I cannot recall exactly because I switched bullets and have not played with them in a long while.
     
  9. jeff 300

    jeff 300 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    882
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Thanks i'm going to try and start out fresh this weekend just like its a new set up and go from there. But the .800 is what i remember being used for 2800-2900 and thats what i;ve been using out to 1000 but after that its gotten a little krazy on me.
    Thanks again
     
  10. Bravo 4

    Bravo 4 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,990
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    If your rounds are striking over what exbal is saying and only using one BC then this could be the problem. This is what Sierra has on their site and what I've used, but only out to 1060yards.

    .768 @ 2300 fps and above
    .760 between 2300 and 1800 fps
    .750 @ 1800 fps and below

    I have only ran these between 2740-2870fps out of my Edge. I'm sure that it could change for the guys running faster velocities, but .8 sounds a little optomistic for me.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  11. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    I find myself having to retract this statement. I had to upgrade my program from version 9.6 to the newest version 10 due to a gliche in 9.6. Just did this yesterday.

    The new version 10 does support G7 BC's. They have to be supplied by the bullet manufacturer, but it does support them.
     
  12. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,840
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    The PPC version still does not support G7 BC's.
     
  13. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Good point, I should have mentioned that version 10 is the PC or home computer variety.
     
  14. lamiglas

    lamiglas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    603
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    I am not an expert on this, but I called mr perry to discuss a few things with him. one of the things he told me was: when you are entering your bc, if you go to program options and then find bc's and click on the bullet you are using, it will use all three bc's. if you enter it yourself it is only using the one bc.