Elevation adjustment?

Bosox

I am looking at putting a Leupold 6.5-20x40mm VXIII 1 inch tube ,,on my Sendro 300 Ultra mag shooting 180gr Accubonds,

My question is looking at the Leupold book it shows it has 50 MOA of adjustment is that enough???????

[ QUOTE ]
is that enough???????

[/ QUOTE ]

Not to sound like a dink but, enough for what????

500 yds.....yes

2000 yds....no

I'd put a 20 or 25 MOA base on it anyway, you'll still be able to get a zero at 100.

OOps , That does look dumb huh? Enough for say a 300 yard zero and able to shoot to 1000 as I learn, working my way out from 300.

See the delimia is I am new to this and I don`t know what load will work the best in the rifle or ballistics of said unknown load, and I can`t get the load till I get a scope, but really can`t pick a scope till I know my load,,,or am I over thinking the whole thing?

take a look at JBM calculations page and try a few loads to see how many MOA adjustment you need. It seems that at 100 yard zero, your scope with standard bases will be set in the middle. so a 50 MOA adjustable scope will have about 25 minutes of adjustment off of 100 yard sight in. My thoughts are that it will not be enough elevation adjustment with out using tapered mounts, it looks likey you need about 30 moa to 1000 and about 25 moa to 850 yards. I beleive you will be ok if you get the tapered mounts.

With a 20MOA base the scope has more than enough adjustment to get you to 1000 yards.
I have an old one that worked OK for me for years but it does have a couple of quirks,no problem what so ever with the glass....Its great for what I paid for it!!
First it holds zero very well as long as I dont adjust the power!The POI will change witht he power...not much but it does change!No problem as most of my shooting is at full power @ prairie dogs and on a deer rifle it does not change enought o miss a deer inside of 400 yards.