Dope help

cowboyarcher

Hi guys,

I'm just getting started into the long range game and am having some trouble doping my shots.

I'm running a 77gr Nosler at 2915fps, zeroed at 100 yards from an AR15. I'm using the listed BC of .340, am at 7200' elevation and am using both the Nikon and isterlok apps to calculate come up values. At 700 yards the apps had me dial 18moa and at 425 yards they called for 8.25moa. I was high at both ranges and was landing rounds on target at 14moa and 6.5moa respectively.

My weather input is coming from the Weather Channel app data.

What bad inputs am I providing my ballistics calculators to get false outputs?

Thanks guys and God bless,

Adam

Last edited:
Hello Adam,

After much messing around tweaking numbers, the only way I could get my program to match even close to your real world results ( 6.5 MOA @ 425 yds and 14 MOA @ 700 yds) was to input a 1" sight height, 125 yd zero, 70°F and 23.37 InHG, 3030 fps and .4 BC.

There are tons of possibilities why things could've went wrong.

Chronograph error. ??

BC not what is published. ??

Scope didn't click exactly what is advertised. ??...........Check This!!

Different shooting position or rest or bag for the shots (example, bench at 425 and bipod at 700). ??

Different lighting conditions or different days between each distance (shot 425 during morning and 700 evening). ??

The list goes on and on unfortunately.

It was 2 different days but the conditions were almost exactly the same. . . I suppose I could have a chrono or BC issue, I was also wondering if my barometeric pressure input was off? How would I check my scopes clicks?

I just found that Litz lists this bullet at .377, that brings things a little closer...

It was 2 different days but the conditions were almost exactly the same. . . I suppose I could have a chrono or BC issue, I was also wondering if my barometeric pressure input was off? How would I check my scopes clicks?