DIY Targets?

JP100

Hey guys
Im new to archery(got my bow about 2 months ago) and cant afford a fancy target to shoot at. I have been using old wheat sacks filled with foam and woolen blankets which works really well for field tips.

Any one else using DIY target?

Hey guys
Im new to archery(got my bow about 2 months ago) and cant afford a fancy target to shoot at. I have been using old wheat sacks filled with foam and woolen blankets which works really well for field tips.

Any one else using DIY target?

When I was doing a lot of shooting, I went to the local grocery store where they recycled cardboard
boxes, and managed to talk the manager into letting me use one of the compressed bundles until it
got shot up and then I would bring it back and trade it for another good one. All it cost me was lunch every time I picked up a new target/Bundle.

As long as it did not get wet and the cord holding the bundle together did not get cut it worked very well with field Tips.(If it gets wet it will take a winch truck to move it). I could have bought a bundle
from him at the same price he got at the re cycle yard, but I did not want to fool with disposal and re cycle seemed like a better plan anyway.

J E CUSTOM

I'm interested in making an economical target to.
I was thinking that if I could get my hands on that "self healing" foam they use on 3D targets I could put something together.
Anyone else got any other ideas?
James:cool:

E1157B73-14CC-425C-88D9-11C59140BC3C.png
I once made a target similar to what Je Custom did. Instead I gathered cardboard and sandwiched it between two 2x12s about 3 feet long with all thread through the ends. Use nuts and washers and tighten it up until your satisfied it will stop an arrow. Cost next to nothing and took very little time. Pretty much just like this but mine was smaller for portability. The cardboard ended up not straight and flat on the face so I used a sawzall with a long blade to cut it all.